Wykeham Primary School

  1. Curriculum
  2. EYFS

Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception)

At Wykeham Primary School we recognise that children learn and develop in different ways and have their own learning styles. In Nursery and Reception there are 7 areas of learning and development that must shape educational provision. We value all areas of learning and development equally and understand that they are interconnected.

The 3 prime areas are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

Children are also supported in 4 specific areas, through which the 3 prime areas are strengthened and applied. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design. 

All our children have access to a stimulating and challenging environment that has a strong emphasis on learning through play and first hand experiences. Our planning is based on the principle that children learn most effectively when they are interested and motivated by the activities they engage with. A balance of planned adult-led activities and child- initiated activities ensures developmentally appropriate differentiation and challenge.

Please click here for Nursery and Reception Overviews.